NTTC rolls Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year program into 2021

National Tank Truck Carriers (NTTC) officials announced that the 2019-2020 Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year program has been suspended due to the COVID-19 pandemic. A Grand Champion from the current list of eight finalists will be named at NTTC’s 2021 Annual Conference, which is scheduled for May 2-4 in San Diego CA. “This year’s prestigious award was to have been presented in May this year at our 75th anniversary celebration in Washington DC, which was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Ryan Streblow, NTTC executive vice-president. I realize that this difficult decision was a disappointment for the entire association, particularly the fine individuals in our finalist group.”

All Champion Finalists will receive complimentary registrations for the 2021 Annual Conference. “Our intention over the next 10 months will be to find other ways to highlight each of the finalists in the months leading up to the 2021 Annual Conference,” Streblow said. J & M Tank Lines driver Darrien Henderson is one of eight champion finalists for the 2019-2020 Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year award, which now will be presented at NTTC’s 2021 annual conference.J & M Tank Lines
The 2019-2020 champion finalists are:

  • Ronald Baird, Hoffman Transportation/G&D Trucking 
  • James W Ellis, Sr, Grammer Industries
  • Ronald Evans, Liquid Cargo
  • Darrien Henderson, J & M Tank Lines
  • Alen Smailovic, Highway Transport
  • Abdul Standfield, Quality Carriers
  • Edward Stasyshyn, Trimac Transportation
  • Tony Stinnett, Usher Transport

New revisions to the National Hazardous Materials Route Registry (NHMRR) took effect June 3.

The revisions were reported to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) from April 1, 2019 to March 31, 2020, and were supplied by state and tribal governments. The listings include all designated and restricted roads and preferred highway routes for transportation of highway route-controlled quantities of Class 7 (radioactive materials) (HRCQ/RAM) and non-radioactive hazardous materials (NRHM). The newly published revisions to the NHMRR listings were published in the Federal Register and supersede and replace corresponding NHMRR listings published in the April 29, 2015 notice and corresponding revisions to the NHMRR listings published in the August 8, 2016, August 9, 2018, and September 24, 2019 notices.

Users of the NHMRR should continue to refer to the April 29, 2015 notice for additional background on the NHMRR and the Aug 8, 2016 notice for the procedures for State and Tribal government routing agencies to update their Route Registry listings and contact information.

The full current NHMRR for each State is posted on FMCSA’s website at

You may also like...